Little Woodford Protestation Return of 1641/42

© Wiltshire OPC 2011

The Protestation Returns relate to the years 1641/42, around the start of the Civil War. It was an Oath of loyalty to the King.

The incumbent of each parish was to read the protestation to his parishioners and all men over the age of 18 had to sign the oath but the women were not usually asked to sign.

The Protestation itself runs in the following terms:—

"I (A. B.) doe, in the presence of Almightie God, promise, vow, and protest to maintaine and defend, so farre as lawfullie I may, with my Hfe, power, and estate, the trne Reformed Protestant Religion expressed in the Doctrine of the Church of England, against all Poperie and Popish Innovations within this Realme contrarie to the same Doctrine and according to the dutie of my Allegiance [to] his Ma'ties Royall person, honor, and estate. As also the Power and Privileges of Parliament, the lawfull rights and Liberties of the subject, and every person that maketh this Protestation in whatsoever hee shall doe in the lawfull pursuence of ye same. And to my power, and as farre as lawfullie I may, I will oppose, and by all good waies and meanes indeavor to bring to condigne punishment all such as shall either by Force, Practise, Counsells, Plotts, Conspiracies, or otherwise do anie thing in this present Protestation contained. And further, that I shall in all Just and honorable waies endeavor to preserve ye Vnion and Peace between the three Kingdomes of England, Scotland, and heland. And neither for hope, feare, nor other respect, reliquish this promise, vow, and Protestation."

On CCED, Henrey Good was shown as the Vicar of Woodford

Henrey Good, sen.. *Vicar*Henrey Good, jun., *Ciic*.
Edmond Dey, *Churchwarden*Tho. Whitehorne, *Churchwarden*Alexandr. Goodfellowe, *Churchwarden*Thorn. Burrowe, *Churchwarden*Samuel 1 Pavye, *Overseer*Edward Burrowe, *Overseer*Thorn. Morse, *Overseer*Leonard Webb

John Mackerell, sen.
John Mackerell, jun.
Richard Mackerell
Thom. Mackerell
John Yeates
Hugh Smith
Richard Ames
Thom. Yorke
Robert Whithorne

Richard Pavye

Edvv. Thistlethwayte Jo. Thistlethwayte Wm. Bassett John Blake

Wm. Ap John Edward Greene John Ward Stefen Foord John Harwaye

Richard Phipin, als. Taylor

Willm. Ames
Thomas Adams
John Ap John, sen.
John Ap John, jun.
Hugh Brouse
Gregory Moowdie
Willm. Dawkins
James Pavie

Little Woodford Protestation Return of 1641/42

© Wiltshire OPC 2011

John Deare Robert Smith Willm. Webber, sen. Willm. Webber, jun. Robert Webber John Benger Nicholas Paxe Rich. Roberts
Jerome Barnabee
John Foxe
Richard Godwyn
Nicholas Dawkins
Hugh Yeates
Henry Foxe

(source: W. N. & Q, Book 7, journal June 1911)