

Malmesbury Workhouse

Minety

Election of Guardians of the Poor

The following persons have been elected guardians of the poor for the various parishes in this Union, for the ensuing year.

The Abbey	Mr John Heath
Alderton	Mr Daniel Sargeant
Bremilham	Mr William Hillier
Brinkworth	Messrs Robert Stratton sen. & John Sutton
Dauntsey	Mr Worthy Knapp
Foxley	Mr F H Baker
Garsdon	Mr Richard Kaynes
Minety	Mr Thomas Boulton
Norton	Mr E Compton
Oaksey	Mr William Ady
Sherston Magna	Messrs W Hillier, jun. & Henry Holborow
Sherston Parva	Mr John Bennett
Somerford Magna	Mr William Beak
Somerford Parva	Rev A Evans
Westport	Messrs Henry Garlick & R Melsome

The following guardians are also qualified to act in the parishes, where no guardians have been elected.

©Wiltshire OPC Project/2014/David Palmer

Brokenborough	Mr Giles Garlick
Charlton	Mr Thomas Sisum
Easton Grey	Mr John Hillier
Hankerton	Mr Joseph Hiscock
Hullavington	Mr John Lane
Lea	Mr John Millard
Luckington	Mr John Fitzherbert
Malmesbury	Rev C Pitt & Messrs W Ponting & W H Lockstone

In the parishes of Crudwell and Sopworth there has been a failure to elect guardians, and consequently an order for a supplementary election will probably be issued by the Poor Law Board, an application for that purpose having been made by the newly elected Board of Guardians. At the Board Meeting held on Saturday last, the Earl of Suffolk was unanimously re-elected to the office of chairman, and the Rev A Evans to that of vice-chairman, for the ensuing year.

Wiltshire Independent 10 May 1860