

INCUMBENTS LIST For the parish of Avebury

This list of vicars is from a plaque inside the Church which also states "During the Middle Ages the Church was held by the Abbey of Cirencester, the Abbots of which, until the dissolution of the monasteries by King Henry VIII, held the right to present the Priest for institution to the benefice."

Some details are augmented by the Clergy of the Church of England Database.

Year	Surname	Given Names	Patron	Notes
c1085	Rainbold		See above	
c1192	Anketyl			
1298	Mayn	Thomas		
1319	De Hoby	John		
1332	Lavenay	John		
1339	Durelyng	Robert		de Faireford
1349	Merecombe	John		
1388	Arnald	John		
1388	Hobecock	William		
1398	Fleter	William		
1405	Slewryt	Edward		
1406	Sabyn	Robert		
1415	Portisham	Robert		
1415	Taylor	William		
1438	Smyth	John		
1439	Balsham	John		
1440	Bycombe	John		
1441	Corbet	John		
1441	Tornour	Simon		
1460	Dylle	William		
1464	Ebbesham	Roger		
1470	Walter	Robert		
1470	Fermor	Robert		
1478	Wilson	William		
1510	Arche	Richard		
1510	Cannyngs	William		
1522	Hill	William		
1530	Porte	Richard		
1538	Stevynson	Robert		Deprived
1538	Banner	Henry		Not included in CCED
1554	Cocke	Thomas		Deprivation of Robert Stevynson
1557	Wotton	William	Philip and Mary	Death of Thomas Cocke

1561	Webbe	Antonius	Johannes Truslowe & Johanna Truslowe (Widow)	Resignation of Robertus Stephenson. From the CCED - Not listed on the Church plaque.
1583	Barker	John MA	Queen Elizabeth	
1587	Pert	John	Queen Elizabeth	Not listed on the plaque but appears in Liber Cleri down to 1613
1620	Forsyth	James	King James I	
1660	Power	Nathaniel	King James I	
1670	White	John	King Charles II	Death of Nathaniel Power
1712	Мауо	John	Queen Anne	Death of John White
1747	Mayo (i)	James	King George II	Resignation of John Mayo
1767	Mayo (ii)	James	King George III	
1789	Mayo (iii)	James	King George III	
1823	Mayo (iv)	James	The Lord Chancellor acting by command of the Crown	
1851	Stow	William	The Lord Chancellor acting by command of the Crown	
1852	Ross	John L.	The Lord Chancellor acting by command of the Crown	
1863	King	Bryan	The Lord Chancellor acting by command of the Crown	
1894	Davis	William H.	Trustees	
1901	Ward	J. Gill	Trustees	
1927	Workman	Henry W.	The Bishop of Sarum	
1929	Pooley	Vivian M.	The Bishop of Sarum	
1941	Woodhouse	Marcus L.	The Bishop of Sarum	
1945	Robbins	R. Alan	The Bishop of Sarum	
1974	Ashton	Patrick T.	The Bishop of Sarum	
1977	Evans	P. Andrew	The Bishop of Sarum	
1980	Force-Jones	G. R. J.	The Bishop of Sarum	

In 1975 the Benefice of Avebury was incorporated into the newly constituted Benefice of Upper Kennet (Team Ministry)